UNESCO World Heritage Site

The city of Ragusa, the provincial capital, is situated in the Hyblean mountains. After the earthquake, which occurred in 700, the reconstruction of the once ancient city was strongly influenced by the medieval era.

One of the reasons why UNESCO recognized the city of Ragusa, adding it to the world heritage list in 2002, is because of its dual reality urbanism.

Thanks to the reconstruction after the disastrous earthquake of 1693, Ragusa is in fact, an example of the phenomenon of a divided city following the disastrous earthquake. The urban aggregate extends throughout different areas.

Ragusa Ibla is on the hills of Ibla, the center of Ragusa is on the Patro and Cucinello hills. The newer parts of the city are on the Corrado, Pendente and Selvaggio hills. The city of Ragusa was also given the title of "City of the three bridges".

The presence of the three bridges (the bridge of the Capuchins in 1835, the new bridge in 1938 and the bridge San Vito 1964) was to connect the new part of the city with the existing one.

Another major presence in the city is represented by the Baroque style, which prevails in most of the palaces and the most important churches in the city. Those most important and valuable, from a historical and artistic standpoint, are among the UNESCO sites of interest. They are;

  • St. John’s Cathedral
  • Bertini Palace
  • Zacco Palace
  • Schininà Palace (episcopal seat)
  • Palace of the Chancellery
  • Church of Santa Maria Idria
  • Cosentini Palace
  • Church of S.S. Purgatory
  • Church of Santa Maria delle Scale
  • Church of San Fillipo Neri
  • Church Santa Maria
  • Church of San Francesco
  • Church of St. Joseph
  • La Rocca Palace
  • Battaglia Palace
  • San Giorgio Church
  • Church of Santa Maria dei Miracoli
  • Sortino Trono Palace

Other important sites, although not recognized by UNESCO, are;

  • Chiesa del collegio di Maria S.S. Addolorata
  • Chiesa dell’Ecce Homo
  • Chiesa di San Francesco
  • Chiesa del S.S. Salvatore
  • Chiesa dell’Angelo
  • Chiesa di San Vito
  • Chiesa San Michele
  • Chiesa dei Cappuccini
  • old convent of Carmine
  • Piazza Libertà,piazza del Popolo e Palazzo delle poste (esempi di architettura anni 30)
  • Archaeological Museum
  • Chiesa santa Lucia
  • ARCHI neighboorhood, Piazza della Repubblica Palazzo - palace
  • Chiesa San Rocco
  • Chiesa di San Sebastiano e San Paolo
  • Palazzo Lupis


UNESCO World Heritage Site


UNESCO World Heritage Site


UNESCO World Heritage Site


UNESCO World Heritage Site